Does Indian Food Have Gluten? – Club Gluten Free
Do Indian foods contain gluten? is the issue we’ll be addressing today. And creating a list of Indian foods that are gluten-free to make your life simpler whenever you have a taste for curry.
When I first received my diagnosis, I thought I would never be able to order takeaway or eat at a restaurant once more. I can still recall looking into safe options for me to eat. There was only one choice that kept coming up: Indian.
That’s correct Look no further if you want spicy food and curries! Indian cuisine is frequently one of the safest options for us because it isn’t frequently thickened with flour (unlike practically all other cuisines appear to be!).
Gluten-Free Indian Food List | Is Indian Food Gluten Free
Let’s look at some well-known Indian dishes that you can eat while living a gluten-free diet.
Chicken marinated in yogurt and spices is called tandoori chicken.
Vegetable Pakora is a spice-and-vegetable-filled fritter.
Chicken marinated in creamy and tomato flavors and generous amounts of spice is known as chicken tikka masala.
Sweet, creamy, and coconut-flavored chicken curry
Butter Chicken, which is somewhat sweet and loaded with butter.
Lamb Biryani is a rice and meat dish that has been seasoned and has a spicy and acidic flavor.
The ideal side dish is onion bhaji, which is onions mixed with spices and frequently chickpea flour.
Saag Aloo is a side dish made with potatoes and spinach.
Poppadums, which are frequently composed of lentils, are the ideal crunchy side dish for any curry.
Flatbread known as chapati is excellent for dipping (sometimes made with wheat)
There are several delicious gluten-free options in this post (besides main courses)
Do Alfalfa Sprouts Contain Gluten?
Foods To Watch Out For
Spices: While all spices are naturally gluten-free, if they were purchased from a store, they can have gluten in them. Because it can avoid clumping, gluten is occasionally an unwanted addition. When ordering any cuisine, it’s always advisable to let your waitress know that you’re gluten-free since hing is a spice that’s frequently used with wheat.
Gram flour can be used to make chapati, which is appropriate. However, it occasionally contains whole wheat flour, so always double-check.
Almost commonly baked using wheat flour, naan is a side dish. I haven’t discovered an Indian restaurant that serves gluten-free naan, therefore I’d strongly advise staying away from this one.
Sometimes, kofta contains breadcrumbs.
Indian delicacy called sevian is prepared using vermicelli noodles. These specific noodles are created from wheat flour.
Anything Fried: This one might be tough because frying gluten-containing foods in the same oil as gluten-free foods can lead to cross-contamination. If you’re uncertain, always ask; usually, an explanation will be provided.
Curry that is prepared from scratch is almost always gluten-free. A kit or ready-made sauce in a jar, however, can include gluten. A common thickening in sauces, particularly those in jars, is gluten. The following are some top gluten-free product lines to try:
Are Onion Powders Gluten Free? Read more. the GF Spices
There is a broad selection of sauces and marinades at Patak’s. Patak’s has everything, whether you prefer something mild like a Korma or you want to spice it up with a Vindaloo! It makes it quite clear that it is gluten-free. Here, you’ll discover a variety of their pastes, kits, sauces, and marinades.
Thai Kitchen has a wide variety of goods, including gluten-free curry pastes. There are stir-fries, noodles, and peanut satay sauce available to sate your hunger.
Check the labels as usual, but curry powder and paste are usually always gluten-free.
Crazy For Curry
Conclusion: Even if almost all foods are gluten-free, it’s best to double-check with your waitress or the label if you’re in a store. Despite being at a buffet, most restaurants, in my experience, will send you a fresh portion of whatever it is you require. You can be certain that no cross-contact with clients has taken place in this manner.
Since being diagnosed, I’ve never had any issues eating any Indian food, and it’s always my go-to choice when I’m craving something special. Chicken Makhani, rice, onion bhajis, and poppadum are what I ordered (with raita, also gluten-free). When you try Indian food, I’d love to know what you order.
If your favorite gluten-free recipe isn’t on the list—there are so many others that deserve to be—please let me know in the comments section below!
Find out more about: Are There Any Wheat Bran Alternatives That Are Gluten-Free?
Leave a Reply